clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Georgia Tech Football: Paul Johnson Named ACC Coach of the Year

The award is Johnson's third in seven years at the helms of the Yellow Jackets.

Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) announced on Tuesday that Georgia Tech head coach Paul Johnson had been voted its ACC Coach of the Year. It is Johnson's third time winning the award after winning his first two seasons at Georgia Tech, 2008 and 2009.

Johnson is the fourth Yellow Jackets head coach to win the award, following Bill Curry (1985), Bobby Ross (1990), and George O'Leary (2000). No other Georgia Tech coaches have won the award multiple times.

With their win over georgia, the Yellow Jackets now have 10 wins on the season -- their ninth such season in school history and fourth in the ACC era. Along with the 2009 season, Paul Johnson is responsible for two of the 10-win seasons, the first coach on The Flats to have multiple seasons with 10+ wins since Bobby Dodd had 4 between 1947 and 1956.

"I accept this award on behalf of our football program - assistant coaches, players, staff, and everyone involved," Johnson said. "As everyone knows, this is not a one-person award. I appreciate the honor."

Final voting for the award was as follows:

Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech (32)

Jimbo Fisher, Florida State (14)

Steve Addazio, Boston College (6)

Bobby Petrino, Louisville (3)

Congratulations to Coach Johnson and the team on this award! You can read the full story here: link.