clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Technical Tidbits 7/24: Award Watch Lists Galore

“Every breath you take...”

NCAA Football: Georgia Tech at South Florida Douglas DeFelice-USA TODAY Sports

The Paul Hornung Award is given to college football’s most versatile player each season. Georgia Tech’s Juanyeh Thomas was recently named to the award’s watch list, and for good reason. Thomas is one of the Tech defense’s best players, going for sixty tackles, one forced fumble, and one interception while creating havoc all over the field last season. Thomas also returns kicks, returning two for touchdowns in his freshman year. If the all-around star has a good season this fall, I would not be surprised to see him join the likes of Christian McCaffrey and Saquon Barkley as Hornung Award winners.

Another football player was named to a watch list on Thursday, offensive lineman Jack DeFoor. The Calhoun, GA native finds himself on the watch list for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy, a community service-based award. DeFoor shows his drive for helping others at Tech through his leadership of the Uplifting Athletes organization, which helps raise awareness and funds research for rare diseases. Keep up the good work, Jack!

I know that the triple-double is one of the most difficult accomplishments in basketball, but I would have guessed that there were more than four in Georgia Tech basketball history. There were three in four years, one each in 1986, 1987, and 1989, before a twenty-two year gap. NBA champion Iman Shumpert has the last one in Tech history, it came against Virginia Tech in 2011. Shumpert was just a few steals away (seven in the game) from making it a quadruple-double! Let’s hope that a fifth triple-double comes soon.

The Georgia Tech golf team is dominating at amateur events throughout the Southeast this summer. Tyler Strafaci won the North & South and the Palmetto Amateur, Luke Schniederjans captured the Georgia Amateur, and now Connor Howe has taken the Southeastern Amateur. Howe won the tournament, held in Columbus, GA, with a chip-in birdie on the last hole to beat Kentucky Wildcat Alex Goff by one. Howe is the first Yellow Jacket to win the Southeastern Amateur since Seth Reeves won in 2013 (Reeves also took home the trophy in 2011). Congratulations, Connor!

I think I might have to stay in front of my TV from 10 on July 31. There should be some great programming.

Question of the Day: What do you think about the award watch lists?