clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Technical Tidbits 10/01: Tech Volleyball Team On The Rise

Volleyball team ranked 12th nationally.

FT.COLLINS, CO—VBALL—Colorado Buffaloes, Meghan Barkman, #2, and Sonja Nielsen, #10, try to block a spiked ball by Georgia Tech, in the first game of the NCAA first round of the division 1 Women’s Volleyball Championship at Moby Arena Friday evening. Ge Photo By Andy Cross/The Denver Post via Getty Images

This is really encouraging news for the volleyball team. Being ranked 12th in the American Volleyball Coaches Association Week One Fall Division I Coaches Poll is no small feat for the team. As the article states, it’s the first time that the Yellow Jackets have been ranked in the top 15 since 2004. Tech split last week’s two five-set matches against Miami. Their next two games will be at home as Tech is set to host Florida State on the 7th and 8th of this month.

In more volleyball news, Tech’s match against Clemson has been moved. The Yellow Jackets were originally scheduled to host the Tigers on October 24th. The match has now been moved to the 22nd and will be broadcast on the ACC Network at 5 p.m. The match will take place at O’Keefe Gymnasium.

At first it seemed odd that a Tech mechanical engineering professor would be concerned with the ongoing debate about how student athletes should be compensated for the use of their name, image, and likeness (NIL). Given Baratunde Cola’s background, though, and the fact that he was a student athlete himself, it makes more sense. As the article states, Cola is a faculty athletics representative and provides oversight to the athletics department. His idea makes sense too. Basically, it allows students to set up a non-profit organization through which they can pay themselves a salary. The topic of NIL compensation is one that won’t be resolved overnight, but hopefully there will be a solution in place at some point in the future.

This was an interesting tidbit from the Twitter universe: A former Tech player on every LeBron James, title winning team.